Biographical Information for the AAANZ Conference STEERING COMMITTEE - Tasmania 2014

Introducing Helene Weeding the new Tasmanian State Representative

Helene Weeding is a Launceston-based artist who is currently involved in post-graduate PhD study at the University of Tasmania's College of the Arts at Inveresk.

Weeding's research demonstrates and experiments with new ways of visually representing, or capturing, the fluidity inherent in turbid atmospheric conditions. It also questions the place of these ephemeral forms in both landscape writing and depiction and examines its relationship to human experience. She has taught extensively at many educational institutions and worked as the Art Education Officer at the QVMAG for five years before leaving to pursue an academic career in the visual arts. Weeding recently taught 'Drawing in the Environment' at TCotA's Creative Arts Summer School in 2014 and has just been granted an artist-in-residency at the Australian National University for 2014.

She has twice been the recipient of an APA (Academic Performance Award) Scholarship and has been a selected finalist in the John Glover Prize (2013), the Bay of Fires Prize (2013) and the Hutchins Prize (2013).

She exhibits regularly in Tasmania and is represented by Handmark Gallery.

Steering Committee:

Dr Malcom Bywaters is Director of the Academy Gallery and NEW Gallery, University of Tasmania.

Fernando do Campo is the inaugural 2014 John Monash Cultural Scholar. He is an artist, writer and curator based in Tasmania.

Dr Karen Hall is a lecturer in theory at the Tasmania College of the Arts (Inveresk), UTAS.

Dr Stuart King is a Lecturer in the School of Architecture and Design at the University of Tasmania. He is currently co-editor of *Fabrications: Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Australia and New Zealand.*

Dr Maria Kunda, lectures in art and design history and theory at the Tasmanian College of the Arts, Hunter Street campus, UTas and is Director of the University of Tasmania's Plimsoll Gallery. Her practice spans curating and writing.

Dr Deborah Malor is a University Associate of the Tasmanian College of the Arts, University of Tasmania, and in 2013 was the inaugural Thinker in Residence, Sawtooth ARI, Launceston.

Marisa Molin holds a Masters of Fine Art and Design (Sculpture) from UTAS and is a contemporary jeweller and sculptor based in Launceston.

Dr. Llewellyn Negrin is Coordinator of and Senior Lecturer in Art and Design Theory (Hobart) and Coordinator of Learning and Teaching in the Tasmanian College of the Arts, University of Tasmania.

Tamas Oszvald is a Tasmania-based student/educator/gardener who is currently working on his post-graduate PhD studies in community-engaged art at the University of Tasmania's College of the Arts.

Damien Quilliam is the Curator of Contemporary Australian Art at the Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery, Launceston.