aaanz book/catalogue prizes

about the prizes

Originally a single ‘Book Prize’, there are now eight AAANZ awards.

  1. Best book ($500 supported by The University of Sydney)
  2. Best anthology ($500 supported by The University of Sydney)
  3. Best large exhibition catalogue ($500 supported by The University of Melbourne)
  4. Best small exhibition catalogue ($100 supported by The University of Western Australia)
  5. Best scholarly article in AAANZ Journal ($500 supported by The University of Sydney)
  6. Best essay/catalogue/book by either an Indigenous Australian or New Zealand Mâori ($500 supported by Christchurch Art Gallery)
  7. Best artist-writer essay/catalogue/book ($500 supported by Massey University)
  8. University Art Museums exhibition catalogue ($1000 supported by the University Art Museums Association)


Deadline for 2014 AAANZ Prizes extended to Friday 26 September

Did you write a book in 2013? Or a catalogue? Was your PhD conferred? In that case we have some good news: there’s an extra four weeks to submit your work for the 2014 AAANZ Prizes, with the closing date extended to Friday 26 September. 


book prize


The annual Book and Journal Prizes are awarded at the conference and are keenly awaited by delegates and the publishing sector. We are the only body in Australasia to focus on art-historical studies, including museum catalogues and monographs.The categories cover catalogues, anthologies, work by an Indigenous Australian or New Zealand Maori, and artist lead projects.

Download the entry form. 

phd prize

2013 saw the introduction of the PhD category to our Prizes, with 2014 marking only the second time this prize will be awarded. Generously sponsored by our new publishers Taylor & Francis, the winner will receive $1000.

Entrants will present a brief version of their thesis to judges and audience members on Friday 5 December before the official start of the 2014 AAANZ Conference GEOcritical in Launceston, Tasmania.

Download the entry form.

The AAANZ awards honour:

• Originality and rigour of scholarship

• Contribution to knowledge in the area & impact on scholarly debate in the field

• Significance of the topic to the field and to adjacent disciplines

• Significance and originality of picture research

• Quality of the design & production values of the publication

• Ability to convey complex ideas to wider audiences

Judging: Only members are eligible to enter awards. Two judges are appointed by the president for each category. Judges are drawn from different cities and from immediate past prize winners. There are no guidelines ratified by the Executive committee, so entrants can nominate their own category. The president acting with the judges will at times need to decide whether a publication is nominated in the appropriate category (eg whether entered as a big or small catalogue or as an anthology or a book). Past years have shown that flexibility in making the decisions, explained by the judging panel in writing, has been well received by members. The president liaises with the judges, soliciting a written report from them that accompany the recommendation of a prize. The judges may prepare an initial ranking list, especially required when a large number of entries are received, and award the prize to two publications; and/or to issue commendations in addition to announcing a winner. Preparation of a confidential report (to the president) and short commendations (to be published on the AAANZ website and read at the AGM), must be completed before the AGM, in order that the president can invite potential winners and their literary agents to be present.


past prizes