2012 Conference

AAANZ 2012 Conference

Together <> Apart

University of Sydney, National Art School, Art Gallery of NSW

Sydney,  12-14 July 2012

Franz Erhard Walther, Connection (Head), 1967. © Timm Rautert and Franz Erhard Walther Foundation. Courtesy Peter Freeman, Inc., New York.

The AAANZ 2012 conference took place at the same time as the 2012 Sydney Biennial. Together<>Apart highlighted major debates and issues raised by the Biennale’s theme ‘all our relations’.  It focused on how networks of artists, curators, critics, museums, and publics structure art.  It asked: what are the stakes, outcomes, and tensions of collaborations and partnerships between artists and art institutions?  This question concerns historians and critics of art of all periods as well as being a live issue for art now and offers a coherent point of intersection for the AAANZ’s diverse constituencies.

Download the 2012 conference booklet here 

Download the 2012 conference program here

2012 conference logo

2012 Keynotes

Professor Thierry de Duve curated the Belgian pavillion of the 2003 Venice Biennale and Look!: 100 Years of Contemporary Art, a ground-breaking reappraisal of the contemporary.  His publications include Sewn in the Sweatshops of Marx, Revamping Kant, Pictorial Nominalism, Kant after Duchamp, and Clement Greenberg Between the Lines.

Dr Helen Molesworth, Chief Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston, previously held positions at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago, and Harvard Art Museums, Cambridge, MA.  She has curated show of Catherine Opie, Luc Tuymans, Andrea Fraser, Paul Chan, Félix González-Torres, Zoe Leonard, and Louise Lawler.

2012 Sponsors

The conference was supported by the Power Institute, Art History and Film Studies, Sydney University Museums, and Sydney College of the Arts, from the University of Sydney; and the College of Fine Arts, University of New South Wales; the National Art School; the Art Gallery of New South Wales; The Biennale of Sydney, The Australia Council and the Sherman Contemporary Art Foundation.